#1 2017-05-12 02:39:54

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

The Wireless router @WSS bought

Hey man how is the performance and durability of that router you bought off AliExpress? I can't even remember which one it was you just mentioned it in passing and I was considering a new one as well. Post some specs and stuffs man. smile


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#2 2017-05-12 14:44:02

lemon
Trusted Member
Registered: 2015-08-27
Posts: 139

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

this is a forum and you did  a public post

Offline

#3 2017-05-12 17:02:05

manjana
Trusted Member
Registered: 2015-11-23
Posts: 105

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

lemon wrote:

this is a forum and you did  a public post

Thank you for clarification!

Offline

#4 2017-05-13 00:37:12

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

It's... annoying.

I'm doing a new LEDE build and I have it mostly tightened down, but it looks like they may have used the Ralink SDK and tied it to a version of OpenWRT old enough that the kernel was supported.  Practical upshot?  Not going to work very well under LEDE until the OS drivers (from 3 years ago) stabilize.

The OS MT76 driver is still buggy as hell.  I should have bought a handful of WNDR3800s instead, and just scattered across the spectrum to push it back at the 2.4Ghz bandwidth destroyers which now surround me.


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#5 2017-05-13 01:21:35

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

It _looks_ pretty cool, though- here it is laying waste to a CD of an awesome trance artist from the late 90s (that I never thought I'd find in a thrift shop for a buck).

LwWvOY3m.jpg


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#6 2017-05-13 01:22:55

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

lemon wrote:

this is a forum and you did  a public post

Who'd have thunked it? tongue


@WSS I have NDR3400's laying about, will those work for a good NAS setup? I don't find the through put on them that great really. Might just be my setup though. Is it worth doing the LEDE mod to them? I am just trying to guage the bang for buck here and will buy something new if I need to get something else.


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#7 2017-05-13 01:24:29

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

WSS wrote:

It _looks_ pretty cool, though- here it is laying waste to a CD of an awesome trance artist from the late 90s (that I never thought I'd find in a thrift shop for a buck).

https://i.imgur.com/LwWvOY3m.jpg

Yeah it does look cool. Reminds me of early Spiderman Spider trackers. (Yes I am THAT old)


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#8 2017-05-13 01:28:46

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

AuroraZero wrote:
lemon wrote:

this is a forum and you did  a public post

Who'd have thunked it? tongue


@WSS I have NDR3400's laying about, will those work for a good NAS setup? I don't find the through put on them that great really. Might just be my setup though. Is it worth doing the LEDE mod to them? I am just trying to guage the bang for buck here and will buy something new if I need to get something else.

I assume you're talking about a WNDR3400.   Only 8M storage and 64MB RAM.  It's.. passable.  I don't think I'd consider them as a NAS device, due to the limited abilities to hold samba, et al.  You could always set one up with a minimal LEDE and then use part of the USB disk as an overlay.   You can get WNDR3800s for $20 all day all over eBay.  I'd probably spend the $20 and go this route instead.


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#9 2017-05-13 01:35:37

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

WSS wrote:
AuroraZero wrote:

Who'd have thunked it? tongue


@WSS I have NDR3400's laying about, will those work for a good NAS setup? I don't find the through put on them that great really. Might just be my setup though. Is it worth doing the LEDE mod to them? I am just trying to guage the bang for buck here and will buy something new if I need to get something else.

I assume you're talking about a WNDR3400.   Only 8M storage and 64MB RAM.  It's.. passable.  I don't think I'd consider them as a NAS device, due to the limited abilities to hold samba, et al.  You could always set one up with a minimal LEDE and then use part of the USB disk as an overlay.   You can get WNDR3800s for $20 all day all over eBay.  I'd probably spend the $20 and go this route instead.


Sounds like a plan man smile. Thank You for the insight.

BTW got me into those damned auctions and I bought 16 EarthWalk laptops for 50 bucks. NO hard drives but a gig of ram in each. Now to bypass those damned passwords on the BIOS and I can flip them for some cash lol.


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#10 2017-05-13 01:44:44

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

AuroraZero wrote:

BTW got me into those damned auctions and I bought 16 EarthWalk laptops for 50 bucks. NO hard drives but a gig of ram in each. Now to bypass those damned passwords on the BIOS and I can flip them for some cash lol.

Where'd you manage that?  Some local place selling off stuff that was there from 2005?  1G ain't great, but you could always throw Puppy or TinyCore on it and send them on their way- provided you can find some media for them- unless they have CD drives, then just Puppy them and call it good.

Are they those Celeron beasts?  They should be AMI based.   If you can get them to boot to (Free)DOS, you can invalidate the CMOS and make it reload.  Not sure about actual motherboard-level dip switches or otherwise, since I've never physically seen one.


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#11 2017-05-13 01:56:30

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

They are dual core and can run win 7 all have dvd drives and some writers even. They are semi toughbooks mostly metal not a lot of plastic. The problem with running off the drives is they are stuck on PXE boot only. So I think I am going to have to PXE boot something to get them to run.

http://www.earthwalk.com/wp-content/upl … Manual.pdf <----link shows all about them. DO NOT click unless you want this .pdf tongue Not bad little tops really Could use them for a variety of things.


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#12 2017-05-13 02:00:00

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

Those aren't bad for the cost of a cheeseburger.  Are they locked to PXE only (won't boot from CD)?  If you can boot from CD, load netboot.xyz ISO onto one and go to town- provided you have a spare ethernet port to plug them into (and they have one that works).   Otherwise, you can still use iPXE to load from CD/etc if you just want to play around..

The latest thing I've shoehorned Win7 on is a Latitude D505 I got for free, just to pass onto the community.  It's still installing updates.  I installed Win7 two..three days ago now?  Extreme2 855GM graphics under 7 was the hardest part so far, other than patiently ignoring it.

Last edited by WSS (2017-05-13 02:00:29)


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#13 2017-05-13 02:04:57

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

I remember the good old days of shoe horning 95 on a 386 with 8mb ram. A year and a half to update anything lol. Those were the days man, those were the days.


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#14 2017-05-13 02:06:09

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

Feh.  I put Slackware '96 on a 486DLC w/ 8M and a 40MB HD.  24MB of that was swap so I could use X11.  big_smile


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#15 2017-05-13 02:12:32

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

Bah  my quad core desktop can and has run windows 1.0 on 5.5 in disk. Beat that !!!!!! tongue


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#16 2017-05-13 02:23:27

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

BRING BACK HOT DOG STAND!


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#17 2017-05-13 02:27:49

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

What do we want? a ham sammich!!! When do we want it? NOW!!!!!! tongue


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#18 2017-05-13 02:38:59

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

I'm bringin' sysv back (yeah)
Them sissyd boys don't know how to act (yeah)
I think it's special, its so vanilla it's barely matte (yeah)
So turn around and I'll show my sack (yeah)

Last edited by WSS (2017-05-13 02:44:07)


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#19 2017-05-13 10:35:06

Backtogeek
Low End Boss
From: ~/
Registered: 2013-02-13
Posts: 3,498
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

Wow, activity!

/me dual wields 1 handed clapping


http://LittleHappyCloud.net KVM VPS with 1TB Bandwidth for €3.00

Offline

#20 2017-05-13 15:35:55

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

You need a crabrouter, Ant.  Everyone needs a crabrouter!


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#21 2017-05-13 20:16:43

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

Spider seeker router dang it!!!


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#22 2017-05-14 01:09:47

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

Nah.  More like Ralinkedin Router.   I'm tired of mucking with the various OSS mt76 drivers that just don't quite work, so I'm installing Void Linux on a D610 latitude.  After the pain that was getting 7 on the Celeron M, I'm not willing to do that again- they're going to be given away, anyhow.


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#23 2017-05-14 03:34:35

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

Core2 feels a lot less annoying now.  musl builds still so broken.. obvious nobody tests beyond build.  glibc is tolerable-for now.


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

#24 2017-05-14 04:37:17

AuroraZero
Slacker
From: Slacker Labs
Registered: 2017-04-01
Posts: 60
Website

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

Heh if you think anyone tests anything now you are nuttier then I thought man. They send it out and fix it later, even cars. Just a hodge podge mess of crap most things are, and then some one has to get dirty to fix them and make them work. Just goes as I have always said, the ones not getting paid the bug bucks know how to make shit work.


The world is full of nuts.....Come join us. smile

Offline

#25 2017-05-14 05:54:20

WSS
Trusted Member
Registered: 2016-12-22
Posts: 255

Re: The Wireless router @WSS bought

Stop buying GM.


RbyeR4Nm.png

Offline

Board footer