#1 2018-04-08 18:20:39

user467268
Trusted Member
Registered: 2018-02-25
Posts: 33

Inception Tokyo down

Tokyo appears to be down as of 6:06pm GMT.

Offline

#2 2018-04-08 18:54:12

MM552
Trusted Member
From: I am not 100% sure
Registered: 2018-03-13
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Inception Tokyo down

For some reason the server is pingable from certain IP's located in Japan. Not sure what is going on

Offline

#3 2018-04-08 19:01:06

user467268
Trusted Member
Registered: 2018-02-25
Posts: 33

Re: Inception Tokyo down

MM552 wrote:

For some reason the server is pingable from certain IP's located in Japan. Not sure what is going on

Thanks, thats actually an extremely useful comment. It might be the machine is not down after all but there is potentially some routing issue to Japan and/or AS20473. A traceroute actually stops relatively early - too early for my taste.

Hmm, no idea smile

Offline

#4 2018-04-08 19:04:24

MM552
Trusted Member
From: I am not 100% sure
Registered: 2018-03-13
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Inception Tokyo down

No problems. Just I have a status page for LES and it is showing it to be online. So the uptime service I use must have a node in Japan. I have checked choopa and they are reporting no problems "yet"

Offline

#5 2018-04-08 19:13:42

oliau
Low End Boss Down Under
From: Planet Earth
Registered: 2014-06-09
Posts: 44

Re: Inception Tokyo down

FWIW NTT had some maintenance in the last hour (also caused some small problems with my POP). Maybe this affected Vultr as well...

Should be resolved now anyway, but as far as I know Choopa also uses NTT there so maybe had some issues also.

Offline

#6 2018-04-08 19:26:13

user467268
Trusted Member
Registered: 2018-02-25
Posts: 33

Re: Inception Tokyo down

The machine is definitely up. But there seems to be some major routing issue. Except for two locations in Europe and in the US I cant reach Tokyo from anywhere else.

Offline

#7 2018-04-08 19:30:06

user467268
Trusted Member
Registered: 2018-02-25
Posts: 33

Re: Inception Tokyo down

Tracing anything remotely international (nothing of the sort of 1.1.1.1 or 8.8.8.8, which both work) FROM the machine seems to stop after the third hop vl517-br1-cer.tyo1.choopa.net

Offline

#8 2018-04-08 19:30:36

MM552
Trusted Member
From: I am not 100% sure
Registered: 2018-03-13
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Inception Tokyo down

The server is pingable from the softlayer network in Japan, Hong Kong, India and Melbourne Australia.

Offline

#9 2018-04-08 19:32:39

MM552
Trusted Member
From: I am not 100% sure
Registered: 2018-03-13
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Inception Tokyo down

Still not able to ping. Because Softlayer peer with NTT it is connectable through there network. But no news on non peering networks.

Last edited by MM552 (2018-04-08 19:36:18)

Offline

#10 2018-04-08 19:38:15

user467268
Trusted Member
Registered: 2018-02-25
Posts: 33

Re: Inception Tokyo down

MM552 wrote:

The server is pingable from the softlayer network in Japan, Hong Kong, India and Melbourne Australia.

Cant check the other locations, but as far as Hong Kong is concerned it is neither reachable from Hutchison's network.

Offline

#11 2018-04-08 19:54:45

user467268
Trusted Member
Registered: 2018-02-25
Posts: 33

Re: Inception Tokyo down

Connectivity appears to be back since 7:51pm GMT. Havent checked from all locations yet though.

Offline

#12 2018-04-08 20:02:38

MM552
Trusted Member
From: I am not 100% sure
Registered: 2018-03-13
Posts: 66
Website

Re: Inception Tokyo down

Yea it seems to be back online now. I can connect from non NTT peer's now.

Offline

#13 2018-04-08 20:52:16

Backtogeek
Low End Boss
From: ~/
Registered: 2013-02-13
Posts: 3,765
Website

Re: Inception Tokyo down

was as Oliver said, Vultr did not send out any notification.


https://upto32.com retro gaming and nostalgia forum that does not take itself to seriously smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB