#1 2018-02-03 18:06:39

mva
Trusted Member
From: Tomsk
Registered: 2016-03-24
Posts: 20

tun is not working on vps on Phoenix(Dallas legacy)

Hi there!
I've just found that (despite of other VPSes in my bundle I've bought few years ago) my vps in Phoenix have issues with /dev/net/tun:

$  ls -l /dev/net/tun
crw-rw-rw- 1 root root 10, 200 фев  3 12:20 /dev/net/tun
$    sudo tinc -n mesh start --no-detach                         
tincd 1.1pre14-16-g15b868e starting, debug level 0
Could not open /dev/net/tun: Operation not permitted
Terminating
Error starting tincd

Strace shows that there is really "permission denied" (even for root) on /dev/net/tun:

[pid  1516] open("/dev/net/tun", O_RDWR|O_NONBLOCK) = -1 EPERM (Operation not permitted) 

P.S. And, yep, I've rebooted the VPS after enabling (re-enabling, actually) of TUN/TAP

Offline

#2 2018-02-04 11:09:57

Backtogeek
Low End Boss
From: ~/
Registered: 2013-02-13
Posts: 3,785
Website

Re: tun is not working on vps on Phoenix(Dallas legacy)

I can see around 150 people using TUN for VPN right now on that node so I am fairly confident in saying this is not something my end.


https://upto32.com retro gaming and nostalgia forum that does not take itself to seriously smile

Offline

#3 2018-02-04 13:02:58

mva
Trusted Member
From: Tomsk
Registered: 2016-03-24
Posts: 20

Re: tun is not working on vps on Phoenix(Dallas legacy)

Well, since I already rebboted the VPS mutiple times (and even reinstalled the OS), I'm sure it's neither fault on my end. Maybe, it's some bug in between?
Is it possible to replace the VPS to the one with working tun then, please? big_smile // and, I think, it would be nice to also replace my japan VPS then (to the one without IPv6 routing issues) smile

Offline

#4 2018-02-04 16:58:55

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,536
Website

Re: tun is not working on vps on Phoenix(Dallas legacy)

if you enabled tun, Solus often wants you to stop and then start the vps from the control panel.

a shutdown -r from inside the vm "never" works.
Sometimes you have to turn it on, shutdown and start. then turn it of, shutdown and start. then turn it on and shutdown and start to make it work.

Offline

#5 2018-02-04 17:03:19

mva
Trusted Member
From: Tomsk
Registered: 2016-03-24
Posts: 20

Re: tun is not working on vps on Phoenix(Dallas legacy)

@mikho, I've exactly "rebooted" from the panel (solusvm). And, yes, I've already tried to disable-reboot-enable-reboot (even before posting here).

Offline

#6 2018-02-04 18:01:03

mva
Trusted Member
From: Tomsk
Registered: 2016-03-24
Posts: 20

Re: tun is not working on vps on Phoenix(Dallas legacy)

Well... After one more session of enabling-disabling-enabling with shutdowns in between, it started to work. Or somebody fixed that in the same time w I played with that.

Anyway, thanks, now it working fine (the vps on phoenix node).

// Although, japan one still have v6-routing problems (see neighbour thread).

Offline

#7 2018-02-06 13:06:55

Backtogeek
Low End Boss
From: ~/
Registered: 2013-02-13
Posts: 3,785
Website

Re: tun is not working on vps on Phoenix(Dallas legacy)

I had not touched it, your IP6 issue was because your using the old subnet and did not claim your new one with 12 months+ notice given.


https://upto32.com retro gaming and nostalgia forum that does not take itself to seriously smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB