#1 2018-02-06 16:11:09

skootchies

TS3 on VPS (Newbie)

So, I've never worked or touched anything in a VPS before.

I tried to read and follow the stickied TS3 on VPS installation guide here on LES Forum but I wasn't successful following those steps,
regardless I've managed to install TS3 Server using other sources. My problem is I can't connect to the server using the main ip given, I actually don't know what is wrong or if I have missed anything of importance

What I've done so far:
1). Logged into my.freecpanelsharedhosting.com, used serial console to access ssh
2). Logged into ssh w/putty
3). Using ubuntu 16.04 installed teamspeak3 server + got auto startup working (status check says teamspeak server is running etc.)
4). Tried to use main IP given in my email to connect to ts3 with no luck.

I've tried starting from new, following various other tutorials but whenever I come to connecting to the server I can never connect.
Not sure if I'm using the wrong ports, am I even supposed to use a port to connect to TS3?

I don't know what to do from here or how to get it working, any help would be appreciated

#2 2018-02-07 09:24:22

laurens
Trusted Member

Re: TS3 on VPS (Newbie)

Hi! Given that you succeeded to log in with putty, your vps itself sounds like it's working fine.

What you're likely need to do is change TS3 to use one of the ports forwarded to your machine. Should be in your email which ports are available to you.

Last edited by laurens (2018-02-07 09:24:55)

#3 2018-02-07 14:28:54

skootchies

laurens wrote:

Hi! Given that you succeeded to log in with putty, your vps itself sounds like it's working fine.

What you're likely need to do is change TS3 to use one of the ports forwarded to your machine. Should be in your email which ports are available to you.

Managed to get the server up and running, it was the ports indeed that I needed to fix