#1 2013-08-02 05:00:20

kgeorgiy
Member
From: St. Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 6
Website

No IPv4 configuration

Hello, guys!

I've just got UK LES box. The IPv6 connectivity is ok (ping6 to and from, ssh on IPv6 address).

But, the box has no configuration for IPv4 address. And I could not setup IPv4 by myself because I have no information about netmask/gateway.

My ifconfig result:

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

venet0    Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
          inet addr:127.0.0.2  P-t-P:127.0.0.2  Bcast:0.0.0.0  Mask:255.255.255.255
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address *** Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address *** Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address *** Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address *** Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address *** Scope:Global
          UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:56 errors:0 dropped:18 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:8668 (8.4 KiB)  TX bytes:10998 (10.7 KiB)

The box's private IPv4 address indicated in welcome letter and SolusVS is 10.10.10.210.

Thank you in advance.

Offline

#2 2013-08-02 14:50:42

kgeorgiy
Member
From: St. Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 6
Website

Re: No IPv4 configuration

Does your box has venet0:0 interface configured to IPv4? May you post your ifconfig results?

I've tried to reboot and installed several different images. In all cases I see no traces of IPv4 connection.

Offline

#3 2013-08-02 17:22:50

kgeorgiy
Member
From: St. Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 6
Website

Re: No IPv4 configuration

Posted ticket.

Thank you, Ray.

Offline

#4 2013-08-08 00:50:23

patb
Member
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2013-08-07
Posts: 6
Website

Re: No IPv4 configuration

I'm in the same situation as kgeorgiy. I have venet0 populated with 5 IPv6 addresses. I can "ssh -6" into my LES machine no problem.

I do NOT have a venet0:0. I cannot ping outbound to any IPv4 addresses.

I was in a hurry to run "apt-get update". Without IPv4, apt-get can't find the repositories. So I modified my /etc/resolv.conf so that it hits the Google IPv6 DNS first. Now apt-get finds the repos, and mostly runs. If anyone else needs to do this, here's the file:

--------------/etc/resolv.conf------------
nameserver 2001:4860:4860::8888
nameserver 2001:4860:4860::8844
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4
------------end of file--------------------

I'll wait a day or so before I submit a ticket; Anthony may just be catching up on new install........I'm not in a great hurry.

Thank you Ray & kgeorgiy

Offline

#5 2013-08-08 13:29:38

AnthonySmith
Low End Boss
From: ~/
Registered: 2013-02-13
Posts: 3,970
Website

Re: No IPv4 configuration

it is fine to drop a ticket in for this sort of thing.


https://upto32.com retro gaming and nostalgia forum that does not take itself to seriously smile

Offline

#6 2013-08-09 19:17:31

AnthonySmith
Low End Boss
From: ~/
Registered: 2013-02-13
Posts: 3,970
Website

Re: No IPv4 configuration

solusvm has an annoying habit of just not bothering to allocate an IP address every now and then.


https://upto32.com retro gaming and nostalgia forum that does not take itself to seriously smile

Offline

#7 2013-08-23 08:15:31

thmsmck
Member
Registered: 2013-08-23
Posts: 2

Re: No IPv4 configuration

Hi, I experience the same issue as descriped here with missing ipv4 configuration.

I can't ping any ipv4 sites from my micro vps.

My ifconfig
[email protected]:~# ifconfig -a
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

venet0    Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
          inet addr:127.0.0.2  P-t-P:127.0.0.2  Bcast:0.0.0.0  Mask:255.255.255.255
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address ***e/128 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address ***/128 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address ***/128 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address ***/128 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: *** My IPv6 address ***/128 Scope:Global
          UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:292 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:206 errors:0 dropped:28 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:37460 (36.5 KiB)  TX bytes:40355 (39.4 KiB)


Tried reboot a couple of times.

Should i open a ticket for this issue?

Hope you can help.

Regards,

Thomas

Offline

#8 2013-08-23 11:43:47

laurens
Trusted Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 37

Re: No IPv4 configuration

You can file a ticket for that, apparently it happens from time to time.

Offline

#9 2013-08-23 11:45:39

kgeorgiy
Member
From: St. Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 6
Website

Re: No IPv4 configuration

I think it's the same problem as I've experienced.

So, it's OK to open a ticket. Ticket should include info specified at http://clients.inceptionhosting.com/kno … ticle&id=9

Offline

#10 2013-08-23 13:38:44

AnthonySmith
Low End Boss
From: ~/
Registered: 2013-02-13
Posts: 3,970
Website

Re: No IPv4 configuration

yep just open a ticket for anything like this it is fine, without manually going in to each container to check I have no way of knowing if this issue arises so I need to fix it for you smile


https://upto32.com retro gaming and nostalgia forum that does not take itself to seriously smile

Offline

#11 2013-09-14 15:11:19

akimov
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 1

Re: No IPv4 configuration

I have the same problem described by kgeorgiy, patb and thmsmck. Both newly configured UK and NL vps have no "venet0:0" record in ifconfig result. What ticket subject should I use to not be ignored? In addition I am not in a hurry, but I just want correctly report this issue.

Offline

#12 2013-09-14 15:26:56

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,785
Website

Re: No IPv4 configuration

As noted in a different thread Anthony has been busy recovering data from a crashed node.
Unfortunatly this types of tickets are handled with lower priority when things like this happens.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB