#1 2015-12-24 19:50:56

BELZI
Trusted Member
Registered: 2015-05-01
Posts: 17

Falkenstein down

Is Germany down? Why?

Offline

#2 2015-12-24 22:49:05

lemon
Trusted Member
Registered: 2015-08-27
Posts: 174

Re: Falkenstein down

yup, down since ~3 hours
but only falkenstein, dusseldorf is up smile (because you wrote 'germany')
RIP f46478cf55.png

Last edited by lemon (2015-12-25 00:00:09)

Offline

#3 2015-12-25 00:44:08

RyanB
Trusted Member
From: Morphett Vale, SA
Registered: 2013-09-08
Posts: 868

Re: Falkenstein down

It's a Christmas Miracle, Had a faulty ssd need replacing, thus Hetzner decided to do it whenever they felt and contacted me ~4am with no notice.. so I missed that notification.

Offline

#4 2015-12-25 08:59:24

willie
Trusted Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 423

Re: Falkenstein down

Looks like it was down for about 6 hours.  I guess it's nice that they noticed and fixed the problem without needing your intervention though.  I didn't realize they did any monitoring at all unless you requested it and put in appropriate script points (something like Nagios but I think not quite the same).  I've been wanting to set this up on my own server with them but haven't gotten around to it, just relying on the combination of RAID and still relatively new drives that haven't had much heavy usage.

Offline

#5 2015-12-25 09:30:03

RyanB
Trusted Member
From: Morphett Vale, SA
Registered: 2013-09-08
Posts: 868

Re: Falkenstein down

No, I noticed a few days ago that the SSD all of a sudden starting spewing out some dirty blocks, so put a request for them to change it. Just dare say they are either swamped or running a skeleton crew over the holidays.

They said they would let me know prior to replacement, just.. in this case, prior was maybe 5 minutes, if not less. and with it been 4am Christmas day for myself, wasn't expecting them to do it right then. so, they replaced the drive, and booted it but since the ssd hadn't had flashcache set for it anymore it wasn't able to boot any VMs.

But, it's all sorted now at least.

But, as an email was sent out a few days ago, looking at upgrading from the i7-2XXX series to the newest Skylark servers in the near future. More power, better hardware in general etc..

Offline

#6 2015-12-25 09:59:45

willie
Trusted Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 423

Re: Falkenstein down

What model SSD was it if you don't mind my asking?   Was it running software RAID and did all the files survive?  I'm always interested in SSD failure stories. 

If you're thinking of the new Hetzner EX41's, they look nice although they're quite a bit more expensive than the auction servers that are almost as fast.  They are in the 10000 cpubenchmark range while the i7-2600 is in the 8000's and the i7-3770 (what I have) is in the 9000's.  So you're getting a 25% or so cpu speedup at best.  It's nice that you can get additional HD's/SSD's though you have to pay for them and also need the flexipack (more $$) to get them.  The base SSD models use cheap consumer SSD's though you can get good SSD's as $$$ add-ons.  Plus there's the setup fees.  There are some i7-3930's (6 core, 12000+ benchmark, 64gb ram) in the auction system currently at around 50 euro/month and that might be a tempting alternative, if the lack of SSD isn't a stopper.

Last edited by willie (2015-12-25 10:00:37)

Offline

#7 2015-12-25 10:55:02

RyanB
Trusted Member
From: Morphett Vale, SA
Registered: 2013-09-08
Posts: 868

Re: Falkenstein down

Unfortunately no real choice in what SSD they provide, but it was a OCZ VERTEX3.

Nothing really lost just a few .conf files on end that i had backups of. (as soon as i noticed it failing, grabbed a backup of everything important etc.)

Running Hardware Raid, and everything else survived as far as i can tell in one peace.

But, with the addition of uber fast DDR4 ram, that would go a long way, and I will have a bit of a stalk on the auctions over the next few weeks and see what pops up etc.

the Falkenstein servers both don't NEED replacing, they are handling their workloads perfectly as far as I can tell, as well as Dusseldorf since the full hardware replacement of everything possible :-P, it's more one of those things that I would really like to do, to keep everything updated as best as possible.

But, the servers that are on my urgent to-upgrade list would be Kansas City, Los Angeles & Sweden.

Offline

#8 2015-12-25 16:30:34

lemon
Trusted Member
Registered: 2015-08-27
Posts: 174

Re: Falkenstein down

RyanB wrote:

Skylark

:^)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB