#1 2018-08-22 18:20:24

jj
Trusted Member
Registered: 2017-11-26
Posts: 7

[mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

Hello,

I have for the last few days been playing around with the beta version of https://www.lowendtalk.com/discussion/1 … testers/p1 and the though of using it with LES came across my mind. Building your own anycast with servers worth a few pennies, what a brilliant idea. cough*Anthony's idea*cough

Unfortunately it seems like RTNETLINK is needed.

[email protected]:~# ip link add anycast type dummy
RTNETLINK answers: Operation not supported

Looking through the forum I came across this thread from a couple of years ago https://forum.lowendspirit.com/viewtopic.php?id=1310 where it seems like Anthony enabled it thus I can only assume it's safe enough to do it?

Thanks

Offline

#2 2018-08-23 07:59:48

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,581
Website

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

Lets try it on one node at a time, which would you like to try it on?

Offline

#3 2018-08-23 09:37:46

jj
Trusted Member
Registered: 2017-11-26
Posts: 7

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

Sure, let's try with Lenoir.

Offline

#4 2018-08-23 09:48:49

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,581
Website

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

jj wrote:

Sure, let's try with Lenoir.

Added to the node, please try now.

Offline

#5 2018-08-23 11:15:39

jj
Trusted Member
Registered: 2017-11-26
Posts: 7

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

mikho wrote:
jj wrote:

Sure, let's try with Lenoir.

Added to the node, please try now.

Hmm, It does not look like it's working.

[email protected]:~# ip link add anycast type dummy
RTNETLINK answers: Operation not supported

Offline

#6 2018-08-23 13:41:52

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,581
Website

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

we are talking about the LES node? not the storage? and did you shutdown/start the container after I replied?

Offline

#7 2018-08-23 16:18:58

jj
Trusted Member
Registered: 2017-11-26
Posts: 7

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

mikho wrote:

we are talking about the LES node? not the storage? and did you shutdown/start the container after I replied?

Yep the LES node, more specifically 172.16.30.XXX. And yes, I restarted the server before my reply.

[email protected]:~# uptime
 12:03:49 up  4:56

Offline

#8 2018-08-24 00:25:02

IHeartGaming
Trusted Member
Registered: 2018-01-26
Posts: 18

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

This is just a notification that I am going to follow this thread. I signed up to beta test that service as well as I am also interested in it. I didn't get around to installing ZeroTier to any of my mrVM VPSes yet, but I will try with Lenoir after it's confirmed to be operational here on the forums.

Offline

#9 2018-08-24 14:58:17

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,581
Website

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

I haven’t had time today to fidle around with it. But the module is loaded, is there anything else needed?

Offline

#10 2018-08-24 16:07:59

jj
Trusted Member
Registered: 2017-11-26
Posts: 7

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

mikho wrote:

I haven’t had time today to fidle around with it. But the module is loaded, is there anything else needed?

I'm not fully sure but I believe it should theoretically work with the dummy module so modprobe dummy? Thank's for taking your time btw.

Offline

#11 2018-08-24 22:39:17

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,581
Website

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

jj wrote:
mikho wrote:

I haven’t had time today to fidle around with it. But the module is loaded, is there anything else needed?

I'm not fully sure but I believe it should theoretically work with the dummy module so modprobe dummy? Thank's for taking your time btw.

 
Added.

Try now.

Offline

#12 2018-08-25 08:27:27

jj
Trusted Member
Registered: 2017-11-26
Posts: 7

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

mikho wrote:
jj wrote:

I'm not fully sure but I believe it should theoretically work with the dummy module so modprobe dummy? Thank's for taking your time btw.

 
Added.

Try now.

It's working perfectly fine now, thanks! Looks like the solution was the dummy module.

Offline

#13 2018-08-25 09:36:20

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,581
Website

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

jj wrote:
mikho wrote:

 
Added.

Try now.

It's working perfectly fine now, thanks! Looks like the solution was the dummy module.

 
Perfect!

Lets try a day or two before I add it to the other nodes. To catch any strange things.

Offline

#14 2018-08-27 10:58:49

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,581
Website

Re: [mrVM] Anycast - Rtnetlink

jj wrote:
mikho wrote:

 
Added.

Try now.

It's working perfectly fine now, thanks! Looks like the solution was the dummy module.


I've added the same modules on all nodes now.

Please keep us updated on the progress

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB