#1 2018-11-28 06:40:35

TigersWay
Trusted Member
From: Bangkok
Registered: 2018-11-23
Posts: 14

[MrVM] Domain Forwarding

Hi,
Just wondering if someone could confirm the panel command "Domain Forwarding" is working as it should!
I can access my servers via their NAT ports, but cannot set any "working" forwarding rule.

Thanks

Offline

#2 2018-11-28 15:01:58

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,647
Website

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

make sure your webserver is listening to port 80 and/or 443 and point your dns record to the external ip.

Offline

#3 2018-11-28 15:35:47

TigersWay
Trusted Member
From: Bangkok
Registered: 2018-11-23
Posts: 14

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

It's probably late hmm I can't make it work.
Everything is working nicely via IPv6, but can't go through via IPv4 and that forward panel.

I'll come back with fresh eyes and a coffee tomorrow!
Thanks anyway

Offline

#4 2018-12-30 12:52:02

wcypierre
Trusted Member
Registered: 2013-08-07
Posts: 63

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

I would like to chip in on this as well as I couldn't seem to get it working over ipv4 as well. I need it to route over ipv4 because the application that I'm using is having some issues over ipv6.

VPS Information
Location: Singapore
Webserver: Nginx
Listening Port: 80 (listening on all interfaces)
Protocol: http

Domain Forwarding Settings:
Protocol: http
Source Domain: my subdomain
Source Port: 80
Destination IP: ends with .18
Destination Port: 80

Cloudflare DNS Setup:
A record pointing from my subdomain to the external public ip listed in the panel
I've tried toggling between going through CF's servers and not and it is still throwing me error.

Can you take a look into this?

Offline

#5 2018-12-30 16:21:26

AnthonySmith
Low End Boss
From: ~/
Registered: 2013-02-13
Posts: 3,873
Website

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

@wcypierre I assume you have tried it with direct to IP rather than having the A record hidden behind the CF IP, may be causing an issue.


https://upto32.com retro gaming and nostalgia forum that does not take itself to seriously smile

Offline

#6 2018-12-30 17:23:46

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,647
Website

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

Send me the domain name and details on the setup in a ticket and I’ll have a look.

Offline

#7 2018-12-30 23:33:36

wcypierre
Trusted Member
Registered: 2013-08-07
Posts: 63

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

@AnthonySmith I did, and it is still not working. Tried using the allocated nat port and it works (but I'd prefer not to include the port number)
@mikho will do so big_smile

Offline

#8 2018-12-31 00:23:13

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,647
Website

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

thanks for the ticket, first thing I noticed is that something is wrong with the config. Probably some user who set the wrong values somewhere.
When reloading the config it fails and therefor nothing is actually changed in the running config.

I will do some tests and find whats wrong in the config.

Offline

#9 2018-12-31 00:25:56

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,647
Website

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

done.

Someone tried to forward port 22 to their own container. HAProxy never reloaded and therefor failed. Your site loads nice now.

Offline

#10 2018-12-31 00:37:10

wcypierre
Trusted Member
Registered: 2013-08-07
Posts: 63

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

Thanks for the help big_smile with that said, maybe you will want to add some preventive checks in the domain forwarding code

Offline

#11 2018-12-31 00:56:06

mikho
Low End Mod
From: Hell and gore == Sweden
Registered: 2013-03-02
Posts: 1,647
Website

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

wcypierre wrote:

Thanks for the help big_smile with that said, maybe you will want to add some preventive checks in the domain forwarding code


there is nothing like a bug hunt at 2 am in the morning smile



I already had to chane the code from Virtualizor in WHMCS to remove the possibility to add a new record with a custom port. Apparently it was still possible to add a record and then edit it to whatever you liked.

so I removed the editing possibility.
If you (or someone else) mistypes the domain name, delete it and add it again.

I hope that will make it easier in the future.

Offline

#12 2018-12-31 12:31:41

wcypierre
Trusted Member
Registered: 2013-08-07
Posts: 63

Offline

#13 2019-01-03 03:02:41

TigersWay
Trusted Member
From: Bangkok
Registered: 2018-11-23
Posts: 14

Re: [MrVM] Domain Forwarding

As I opened this thread, I just tried and it's working!

Thanks @mikho

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB